Presentations & Links

FIND DATA

1) Morocco Open Data: http://data.gov.ma/Pages/Home.aspx (The Morocco Open Data Platform)

2) Tunisia Open Data: http://www.opendata.tn/  (The Tunisia Open Data Platform)

3) Public Data Explorer: http://bit.ly/Q6mlVZ (The Google Public Data Explorer makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate).

4) World Bank Open Data: http://data.worldbank.org/data-catalog (The World Bank’s Data platform provides free access to data from more than 200 countries & economies).

 

EXAMPLES OF DATA JOURNALISM IN MASS MEDIA

1) The Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/datablog/2010/feb/05/mps-expenses-houseofcommons#zoomed-picture (A summary of expenses claims made by MPs)

2) BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-18770328 (interactive visualization that works out your BMI & where your weight ranks in relation to the rest of the population in your country and the world for your gender and age).

3) New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2011/06/19/nyregion/how-many-households-are-like-yours.html?hp (interactive visualization that lets you define your family and see how many families are like yours in the United States)

4) Washington Post: http://projects.washingtonpost.com/top-secret-america/map/ (interactive map to find locations of government organizations and contractors)

5) BBC: www.howbigreally.com/ (takes important places, events and things, and overlays them onto a map of where you are)

6) If It Were My Home: www.ifitweremyhome.com/ (If you were not born in the country you were, what would your life be like? This tool can be a gateway to understanding life outside your home).

 

EXAMPLE DATA VISUALIZATIONS

1) Afrographique: http://afrographique.tumblr.com/ (a series of visualizations focused on African data)

2) How Much CO2 Is Created By…: whttp://visualization.geblogs.com/visualization/co2/#/apples_local<http://visualization.geblogs.com/visualization/co2/#/apples_local> (interactive visualization which examines the amount of carbon emitted by a range of human activities, relative to each other).

 

EXAMPLE ‘UTILITY’ DATA SITES & TOOLS

1) Document Cloud: https://www.documentcloud.org/home (a repository of primary source documents and a tool for document-based investigative reporting).

2) History Pin: http://www.historypin.com/ (an online, user-generated archive of historical photos and personal recollections).

3) Little Sis: http://littlesis.org/ (free database detailing the connections between powerful people and organizations)

4) Mzalendo: http://info.mzalendo.com/ (free database which provides information about the Kenyan Parliament, including MPs and aspirants).

5) Investigative Dashboard: http://www.investigativedashboard.org/category/wwd/ (a space for investigators to find resources, share information, and learn new ‘tricks of the trade’)

6) Open Corporates: http://opencorporates.com/ (a website which shares data on millions of companies and corporations in over 20 countries)

7) Propublica: http://www.propublica.org/tools/ (one-stop site for apps, data visualizations, databases, and tools from ProPublica, an independent non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism)

8) Where Does My Money Go?: http://wheredoesmymoneygo.org/dailybread.html (interactive site which visualizes UK tax expenditures by sector).

9) Where Did My Tax Dollars Go?: http://www.wheredidmytaxdollarsgo.com/ (interactive site which visualizes US tax expenditures by sector)

10) Every Day is Tax Day: http://fchasen.com/taxday/ (interactive site which condenses national taxation a single day, and asks, ‘how much of your day is spent working for different government agencies?).

11) County Sin Rankings: http://countysinrankings.org/ca/san-francisco (interactive site visualizes your county’s health according to the 7 Deadly Sins)

12) Know Where You Live: http://www.hackdays.com/knowwhereyoulive/about/ (a data mashup that displays a range of Australian Government data based on your geographic location along with a Google satellite map)

13) South Africa Nonprofit Tracker: http://carolune.org/c4d/ (a mapped record of all registered non profit organizations in South Africa).

14) Land Matrix: http://landportal.info/landmatrix (online public database that permits all users to contribute to and improve data on land deals, and for this data to be visualized).

EXAMPLE APPS

1) Highlight (app): http://highlig.ht/about.html (a social networking app: if someone standing near you also has Highlight, their profile will show up on your phone. You can see their name, photos of them, mutual friends, and anything else they have chosen to share).

2) Twist (app): http://mashable.com/2012/07/18/twist-iphone-app-texts-friends-when-youre-running-late/ (an app which helps you share your estimated time of arrival with friends and colleagues)

3) Hunch (app): http://mashable.com/2010/08/23/hunch-local-search/ (a collective intelligence app that delivers personalized recommendations based on individual responses to a set of taste-determining questions)

4) Google Now (app): http://www.google.com/landing/now/ (a mobile personalized search application created by Google and powered by the Knowledge Graph)